Salamander Place – Finalists in Homes for Scotland Awards 2013

Salamander Place – Finalists in Homes for Scotland Awards 2013


Salamander Place has been selected as a Finalist for ‘Best Partnership in Affordable Housing Delivery‘ in the Homes for Scotland Awards 2013

Following another record number of entries, the shortlist for Homes for Scotland’s 2013 awards has been announced. Developed to recognise best practice and help to further raise standards across the home building industry, categories focus on the four highly relevant “P’s” of: people, process, product and partnership, encompassing a range of important policy issues impacting the industry’s success.

Salamander Place was shortlisted as a Finalist in under the ‘Best Partnership in Affordable Housing Delivery‘ category. Salamander Place involved the following companies working together:

  • Rettie & Co
  • Teague Homes
  • Hillcrest Housing Assocition
  • Cruden Homes
  • Hart Builders
  • City of Edinburgh Council

Winners will be announced at the Homes for Scotland Annual Lunch at the EICC on Friday 17 May at which Deputy First Minister Nicola Sturgeon will be the keynote speaker. Hosted by Kaye Adamsover 725 senior industry representatives and theirguests are already confirmed to attend what remains the premier event in the Scottish home building calendar.

The audience will also be placed right at the very heart of proceedings, using a special electronic voting system to decide which company merits the accolade of Home Builder of the Year from the recommendations put forward by the independent judging panel chaired by commentator and ex-Executive Editor of The Scotsman Bill Jamieson.

An Outstanding Achievement award will also be presented on the day. Prior recipients include Mike Walker of Walker Group and Derek Mickel of Mactaggart & Mickel.

Homes for Scotland Chief Executive Philip Hogg said:

“Whilst the housing sector is still striving for a meaningful recovery, it is encouraging to have received such a volume of quality submissions for this year’s awards.

“These entries demonstrate that there remains a wealth of both stand-out companies and individuals who are committed to and capable of effecting change.”